Daan Roosegaarde awarded the Airbnb Design Innovation Medal

October 2016
The Design Innovation Medal, supported by British Land and Airbnb, celebrates the achievements of designers who are making a significant difference to our lives through their innovation, originality and imagination. For 2016 the award recipients have again been chosen by an illustrious selection including Dr Martin Roth (Director V&A), Paul Thompson (Rector Royal College of Art) and Justine Simons (Head of Culture Mayor of London) and Tony Chambers (Editor-in-Chief Wallpaper*). Winners have been selected from a range of design disciplines, chosen for their exceptional contribution to their design domain. Designers and architects such as the late Zaha Hadid, Marc Newsom, Thomas Heatherwick and Peter Saville have been among the renowned London Design Medal.
Daan Roosegaarde (1979) has been driven by nature's gifts such as light emitting fireflies and jellyfishes, since a young age. His fascination for nature and technology is reflected in his iconic designs. His award winning projects include ‘Waterlicht’, a poetic experience which shows the force of water and its rising levels; ‘Smart Highway’, sustainable roads that charge during the day and glow at night. “Design to me is about improving our daily life, it is not about creating another lamp or another chair. It is an honour to receive the Medal today and to celebrate the importance of innovation here in London”, says Daan Roosegaarde.