Exhibition, Foam, Amsterdam, Netherlands.

November 12, 2017
Foam kicks off the Foam Talent exhibition series with a show in Amsterdam comprising works of the 20 international artists selected through its annual Open Call. This year – for the first time – the Foam Talent exhibition and Foam Magazine’s Talent Issue are launched at the museum in Amsterdam before travelling internationally. The presentation comprises of an exciting range of works drawn from the pages of the magazine.
Selected through the annual Talent Call – the largest to date, with 1.790 submissions from 75 different countries – the 20 image-makers presented in this exhibition represent a cross section of the current state of photography.
A number of growing trends and tendencies can be clearly perceived in the work of the new Foam Talents. Many featured artists express socio-political concerns in their work. For example by openly denouncing totalitarian regimes in their respective countries, or by commenting on the way in which online imagery feeds a collective fear of terrorism. This year’s selection also includes a striking number of long term projects that acquire greater depth of meaning over time. Equally striking is the embrace of a wide range of media by today’s artists, who rarely confine themselves to the camera alone.
The Talent Issue of Foam Magazine serves as an exhibition catalogue and provides more in-depth texts around the featured artists' work.
In recent years the Foam Talent exhibition has travelled internationally to cities such as Paris, Brussels, New York and London. This year, the work of the selected photographers tours again, beginning at Foam.
Sushant Chhabria (India), David De Beyter (France), Mark Dorf (USA), Alinka Echeverría (Mexico/UK), Weronika Gęsicka (Poland), Wang Juyan (China), Thomas Kuijpers (The Netherlands), Quentin Lacombe (France), Clément Lambelet (Switzerland), Namsa Leuba (Switzerland/Guinea), Erik Madigan Heck (USA), Alix Marie (France), Martin Errichiello & Filippo Menichetti (Italy), Wang Nan (China), Kai Oh (South Korea), Viacheslav Poliakov (Ukraine), Ben Schonberger (USA), Sadegh Souri (Iran), Harit Srikhao (Thailand) and Vasantha Yogananthan (France).